Hue

My time in Hue was bittersweet. I made the mistake of staying at another backpacker hostel when I was needing some alone time and should’ve gotten myself a private room. I did really enjoy the city though. To get away from the monotony of the backpacker scene, I took many walks and mini-excursions by myself.

My first evening in town I went on a 1 hour tour of the Perfume river at night. The boat was pleasantly devoid of other westerners. There were 5 women in traditional dress singing while 2 men played their instruments. I didn’t understand a word of it, which I prefer sometimes. When you understand the lyrics of a song, the music becomes rooted in something you can relate to, usually emotionally. Since I didn’t understand what they were saying, I got to focus on the melody of their voices, which was absolutely beautiful.

Thich Quang DucThe next day I went to the Thien Mu Pagoda, where the Austin motorcar is located. In 1963, the Monk Thich Quang Duc publicly burned himself alive as protest against the policies of president Ngo Dinh Diem and his regime.

That night, I met a few other backpackers who were also traveling by motorbike. It was nice to chat with them about the ups and downs of being on the road.

 

 

Can Chanh Palace

My last day in town, I went to the palace within the citadel walls. The city within the walls has a certain old charm to it. The palace itself and its grounds made for a nice walk. Lucky for me it was cloudy that day, as it had been unbearably hot the previous two days.

Forbidden Purple City

It was a quick couple days in Hue. Currently I am in a small town called Son Trach on the edge of the Phong Nha National Park. Will report later. Peace!

Leave a Reply

