Vang Vieng

Vang Vieng

Driving into Vang Vieng I found the landscape breathtaking. The countryside is dotted with luscious green hills. High cliffs tower like skyscrapers. The mountains get so high that at one point we stopped and found ourselves in a cloud. We got out for a bit and I breathed in the refreshing mist. It’s a bit surreal being in a cloud. The last time I felt like that was when skydiving.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Arriving in Vang Vieng I took up lodging at the Phoudingdaeng Organic Farm about 3km north of town. This has been one of my favorite guesthouses ever.  There are goats, pigs, chickens and crops such as mulberries, pineapples, and eggplants. Because of this, the guesthouse’s restaurant has amazingly fresh food. The goat cheese they put on their omelets is to die for. The staff are delightful.  Every morning I would order breakfast and the woman would give me a discounts on my order. The guesthouse is also by the river with an amazing view of the high karst cliffs on the other side. The only downside to this place is that it is a bit far from town. One night I hitchhiked back and the next I walked which took about 50 minutes.

Tubing Vang Vieng

Tubing Vang Vieng

Vang Vieng itself is like a spring break party. People come to tube the river and get plastered. I partook to an extent. Tubing is a must do, but I recommend starting by noon. My friends and I started at 3 and we were a bit rushed to get from bar to bar along the river. The next day we went to the Blue Lagoon. It was a bit crowded and the journey overpriced but it was still refreshing. The other days I just hung out with friends by the river or at a restaurant that played episodes of Friends.

Honda Win

The highlight of my stay was buying a Honda motorcycle off my American friend. He was looking to sell it before going back to the states and I really wanted to escape the confines of traveling by bus. This will definitely change my pace of travel. It seems I’ll only be able to go about 200 km per day. I’m not sure what my new mode of transportation will bring but I expect it will be fun. Yesterday I drove from Vang Vieng to Viantiene. I felt so free. Although, my ass hurt a lot and I had to make a few stops to remedy this. Viantiene is great so far! Until next time…

Leave a Reply

