New Orleans architecture

My year stint in New Orleans is over. I am currently back in Texas living out of my suitcase until I can move to the outskirts of Paris next month. I think it’s a great time to recap one of my favorite aspects of New Orleans… the architecture. From the houses on St. Charles in Uptown, to the Garden District, to the French Quarter and the Faubourg Marigny, the architecture is by far my favorite in the world. I used to love to walk in the French Quarter gazing at the Spanish Carribean houses with their galleries and balconies overhanging the street. I enjoyed biking down St. Charles and on Magazine street in the Garden District and checking out the houses that are a beautiful mixture of 19th century French and American plantation styles. There are even a few houses throughout uptown and the garden district that seem to be done in the Dutch style with narrow, pointy roofs and a mixture of dark wood and stone on the facades of the exterior. Here are a few of my favorite pictures from these areas of town.

Leave a Reply

