Audubon Aquarium

Part of the Audubon series of posts…

I only have one week left before I move away from New Orleans, where I’ve spent the last year. A few weeks ago the realization that my time here was limited really hit me, and I’ve been scrambling to do all the things I like to do around town and to do some of the things I haven’t done yet. One of the things I hadn’t done yet but had really wanted to was to pay a visit to the Audubon Aquarium. I have already been to the Audubon Zoo, Audubon Park,and the Audubon Insectarium, so to complete the Audubon experience the Aquarium was next up on my list. I went with my dear friends Creston and Mala, whom can nerd out in museums just as much as I can. Rather than describe the whole Aquarium I’ll let the videos I took at my favorite exhibits speak for themselves…

I love how the seahorses seem so alien.The way they glide is methodical and ethereal. They hover in slow contemplation until they find the next branch to grab onto with their snake tail. Really cool to watch

I really enjoyed these sharks. They have this serial killer look about them. Their eyes seem lifeless and empty as they slowly slink around opening and closing their mouth packed with pointy long needles. Theyre definitely the psychopaths of this tank. Why don’t the Aquarium keepers have problems with the sharks eating the other fish in the tank you ask? Because they chose fish too large to be prey.

These jellies were fun to watch. I love how hypnotizing bioluminescence is. I got caught up staring at these guys for quite a while.

Leave a Reply

