Tarantulas

20120526-030741.jpg

I caught this little guy while at a wedding rehearsal dinner in the Texas hill country by Austin. The other people at the rehearsal weren’t quite as enthusiastic about my find. Tarantulas are really quite gentle and don’t make much of a fuss unless you move too quickly when holding them. Even this wild one was easy to handle and
I actually had a hard time getting him off. I also had a case of cognitive dissonance trying to decide if I’d make him my pet or not. Captivity in exchange for steady food and safety from predators? Or freedom to follow fate’s path which is risky but obviously more liberated. I ended up letting him go, and trusting that millions of years of evolution have equipped his species with all the survival skills he needs. I’d just have been a jailer to the happy hill country Tarantula.

20120526-031457.jpg<

Leave a Reply

