Louisiana Swamp

Mardi Gras 143

I took this photo from a boat out in the Bayou across lake Pontchartrain. Being from the West Texas desert, it trips me out sometimes to think that I live in a Swampy area. It reminds me of Gambit from X-Men. One of my favorite X-Men as a kid. Yes, there are a few people here that have his Cajun accent and speak French. Kinda hard to understand for someone like me who learned Parisian French. Cajun folks are more rare in New Orleans though, and I hear tell there are more traditional Cajun families still living in the smaller towns. Some things that influenced my perception of New Orleans prior to moving here: the series True Blood, Interview with a Vampire, and Skeleton Key. What influences your perception of New Orleans?

Leave a Reply

